background image


The United Kingdom voted on 23 June 2016 to withdraw from the European Union (EU) in a referendum commonly referred to as Brexit. The UK issued a formal notice of withdrawal from the EU on 29 March 2017. The UK withdrew from the European Union at midnight on 31 January 2020 and was in a transition period until 31 December 2020 under the terms of the Withdrawal Agreement. With the expiry of the Brexit transitional period on 31 December 2020, the UK has formally become a third country vis-à-vis the EU. Gibraltar being a British Overseas Territory, is also impacted by Brexit. The UK has entered into an agreement with Spain to allow free movement between Gibraltar and Spain. Consequently, Gibraltar, remaining the British Overseas Territory, is now part of the Schengen zone and will follow EU rules.