background image

Exchange of Information

Costa Rica signed Tax Information Exchange Agreements (TIEAs) with the following countries:

Country Status
Argentina In force (2009)
Australia In force (2011)
Canada In force (2011)
Denmark Not in force (2011)
Ecuador Not in force (2013)
Faroe Islands Not in force (2011)
Finland In force (2011)
France Not in force (2010)
Greenland Not in force (2011)
Guernsey Ratified (2014)
Iceland Not in force (2011)
Mexico In force (2011)
Netherlands In force (2011)
Norway In force (2011)
South Africa Ratified (2012)
Spain Not in force (2011)
St. Maarten Not in force (2012)
Sweden In force (2011)
United States In force (1989)

On the other hand, in 2013 Costa Rica and United States signed an IGA Model 1A for the implementation of FATCA. Even so, the agreement has not become effective yet.

Finally, Costa Rica is part of the Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement for the Exchange of Information, under which it is intended that Costa Rica will start supplying tax information on financial accounts from September  2018.