background image

Burundi is a landlocked country in the African Great Lakes region of East Africa, bordered by Rwanda, Tanzania and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Burundi's capital is Bujumbura. Agriculture accounts for 50% of its gross domestic product and employs more than 90% of its population. Burundi’s primary exports are tea and coffee.

Burundi's currency is the Burundian Franc (BIF/ FBu).


API Investment Promotion Agency (Agence de la Promotion et de l'Investissement)
BANCOBU Commercial Bank of Burundi
BIF Burundian Franc / FBu
CIT Corporate Income Tax
FZC Free Zone Company
LLC / SARL / SURL Limited Liability Company / Société À Responsabilité Limitée
NIF / TIN Tax Identification Number
OBR Office Burundais des Recettes
PLC / SA Public Limited Company / Société Anonyme
PE Permanent Establishment
SEZ / FTZ Special Economic Zone / Free Trade Zone