background image
Iceland Deposits Ratification Instrument for Protocol to Nordic Tax Treaty — Orbitax Tax News & Alerts

According to a release from Iceland's Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs, Iceland deposited with Finland on 27 September 2019 its instrument of ratification for the 2018 protocol to the 1996 Nordic income and capital tax treaty. The protocol, which was signed by the Contracting States to the treaty on 29 August 2018, includes amendments to bring the treaty in line with the minimum BEPS standards, including changes in the preamble, the addition of a general principle purpose test, and an update on mutual agreement procedures. The protocol is to generally apply from 1 January 2020.

The Contracting States to the Nordic tax treaty include Denmark, the Faroe Islands, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden.